Legends of the Ball XVI: RuPaul

* I know the girls are going to read me for filth for not posting but I am becoming increasingly busy in my non internet life and I only want to post when I feel I have something real to say. That being said, I am going to try to post more regularly, I swear. Sorry about the hold up.

Often times, we get caught up in idealizing the more political, more serious members of our communities when we look for heroes. However, fun and camp are an important part of building while we destroy the oppressive world we currently live in. That’s why this week’s Legend of the Ball is non other than RuPaul, supermodel of the world.

Ru first stroke me as a gorgeous womyn, an amazon. He (or She, Ru has made it clear that either is fine) stands as a beacon for the questioning queer youth and the jaded cynic. A reminder that before we can change our surroundings we must first change ourselves and come to have peace with the person that we see in the mirror. No where is this message needed more than in the minds and spirits of queer youth who are finding this world colder and colder with each second. Ru’s ability to make the art of Drag a respected one is no mere feet. It is something to be admired.

Leave a Reply

