On Going to Pride

Image

I think, as queers, we can have alternative festivals that celebrate our culture and histories. We don’t need a celebration, sponsored by the same Capitalist corporations and people who are exploiting our image to sell products, which we dont need, to back us. These people don’t know what Stonewall was, they don’t know about the Compton Cafeteria, or why there are always drag queens on pride floats (there’s a historical significance to that) These are the same people who don’t care if we live or die. When did you last see Wells Fargo, Bud Light, or the rest calling for a “free CECE” campaign… its capitalism where there profit from comodify-ing our cultures. I want to commune with my folks but not in some corporate sponsored meat fest where body politics are based in the Euro-centric, love politics are based in unhealthy fucks and life politics are based on assimilating to the straight world by saying “look let us marry, we’re citizens too.”

Ive never been a citizen. Was I a citizen when the society enslaved me? Was I a citizen when my sex was made illegal? Was I a citizen when my school was closed leaving me with no where to go? Was I a citizen when had to wait in line at 4am to have my teeth pulled, along with the majority of Oakland because we don’t have healthcare?

Of what citizenship can I attest to have? Queers, Blacks, and other non white, non rich, non men have never had the privilege of citizenship. Only a terrifying oppression from above. And so I refuse to believe that this same society- for once a year- cares so overwhelmingly about my life.

What about Cece? Duana? Anthony? Brandi? or even Matthew? (even he’s barely mentioned anymore) Where are their floats and coverage?

PRIDE was a historical celebration of an outsider culture. Queers- excluded from the society and the culture- made their own festivals. Where we celebrated Drag Queens for their courage, and each other for our uniqueness and wonder. It was a political statement saying that we intended to remain visible in the society and that we opposed fascism, imperialism, sexism, racism, and the nuclear family- all which seek to destroy us and the globe.

PRIDE now is a overdone celebration of a liberal gay identity that emcompasses fucking, assimilating, and drug abuse.

Im not against a party. Girl, lets do this, lets get lifted but lets also be conscious. Lets realize that “equality” and other buzz words are just that: words. Gays need not worry about marrying when we are dying from lack of healthcare, unemployment, the war, housing, violence, etc. . . who has the privilege of sitting and thinking about getting married- accessing a number of rights that should be free to all. And why are we glorifying this one way to love- monogamy. Last time I checked, placing monogamy as the only valid relationship model was damaging and harmful the full expression of human life and the exact vehicle that created the nuclear family, which oppress us and supports capitalism- which kills us

When I was younger and I didn’t know how to be queer in the ways I wanted I saw PRIDE as something special. I needed to be with my people but I think now that I can/ coulda been/ desire to be with them in another way. Maybe in the streets ACTing up, maybe in a dance hall where I am not groped or stalked by white men, maybe in the same area as lesbians and trans folk who are very much apart of the community… until then though, ill only be at PRIDE to flyer and funnel us into something greater. Something that can save our lives.

otherwise … Sorry, honey. Im good

One thought on “On Going to Pride

Leave a Reply

