some lines.

 

being a queer male is isolating.
being a queer male in a circle of lesbians is even more isolating.
being conscious of these social relations makes things sometimes worse.

the solution… i don’t know.

maybe find other queer men to kick it with
maybe… hanging with the lesbians was a defense against the unhealthy faggotry of gay boy world so…

i may be stuck.

 

 

One thought on “some lines.

  1. This post also means a lot to me, and I thank you for sharing it. As a queer man of color, from a mixed class background, with certain politics and interested in building certain kinds of relationships, I’ve often felt isolated among collectives of gay men. This has, for most of my queer life, caused me to find community among other groups of queer, brown and/or oppressed people. This has been at times important and powerful for me, but also sad and frustrating.

    I’m just now getting to the point in my life where I don’t feel the need find communities or my place in them, but am instead trying to build my own communities, to work together with others who share my frustrations in shaping the kinds of spaces we need. This is hard work, and long process, but it has given me a new appreciation for all of my identities and the many communities they connect me to. I think what we are taught to see as a weakness in our intersecting identities is actually one of their powers–that the structures that exist, even in the form of traditional gay identities and communities, can’t contain us. While we struggle to find the communities which can truly support and understand us, I think this struggle is a reminder that we have a unique opportunity to imagine and create the kinds of spaces which exist which too much rarity in our current world; that our crossing roots push us to challenge all kinds of communities as they exist.

Leave a Reply

